Tablo Shortcomings (5.1 sound & channel surfing)

I’m new to Tablo and I read just about all the comments on 5.1 sound and channel surfing. I happen to have a high tech setup in my basement that I too want to take advantage of. For unrelated reasons, I hardwired each of my TVs to prevent interference with my wifi signal. Now my network is pretty unlimited in what it can handle. However I can’t take advantage of this due to the downgrade in the Tablo recordings. My question is this… Why can’t the option to record native content be added (higher than the 10Mbs option). Then transcoding can happen as the content is played if necessary. Otherwise, let the raw content pass through. This seems like it would resolve everyone’s concerns and put the responsibility on the user and their network limitations if they really want these options. It would also address the main limitations of the setup without compromising those that need the transcoded content. I know I’m probably missing something, but had to ask.

2 Likes

It’s not totally a network limitation. It’s also a client playback issue. Not all client devices can handle 5.1 sound. And the Tablo isn’t powerful enough to do trancoding without using one of the tuner/processor modules. So depending on transcoding for the majority of playback is a non-starter.

Right now, all content is transcoded from mpeg2 to HTS format as it’s recorded. That’s required because most streamer boxes can’t play native mpeg2. It’s that initial transcoding which causes the channel surfing delay.

2 Likes

It’s a trade off. I’m willing to accept slightly lower quality content (I have my Tablo set to record with the 8 Mbps option) in order to have it automatically transcoded while being recorded so that multiple devices can play it back without having to transcode it during playback.