Tablo Dual Lite going to weird IP addresses

[I had to update this thing due to changes in my situation, and general screwups. Sorry :confused: ]

This is a weird one, and I’d love to hear not just solutions but explanations of what is going on.

• My setup consists of a Tablo Dual Lite plugged (via CAT5E) into a Linksys router that has been put into “bridge” mode. This “bridge” is connected, also via cable, to our main router, which in turn is connected to a cable modem.
  • The Dual Lite is running version 2.2.40
  • I don’t use the Tablo from outside my home, nor I have a subscription that would explain my tablo connecting to anything outside my network.
  • I don’t have any storage attached to it, or use cloud storage of any kind

So… I’ve had the tablo for a few years now but until recently we had not started using it “for real”, since the reception was too crappy. I installed a much better antenna last week and reception is fine, but then the Tablo come up with one very strange problem: every day, and sometimes multiple times a day, all the devices in my house (two smart TVs, a couple of Rokus and even my computers) would lose connectivity with the Tablo. Only my phone (Android) could still access it. On other devices I get a message saying a Tablo cannot be found.

Here’s the kicker: when I check the settings on the Tablo app on my phone, it says that the server IP is 192.168.1.6 - which is NOT an IP assigned by my router (or any other device on my network, for that matter). My router is configured to assign IP addresses on the 192.168.0.X subnet only.

I changed the settings on my router to assign the Tablo a fixed IP address based on the MAC address reported on the app (and at the bottom of the device itself), but this thing kept connecting as 192.168.1.6.

After hours trying to figure out what was going on, I reset the Tablo to factory defaults, but the issue continued - same IP address