So Far, NOT so Good

I want to start this by saying I have been using Tivo for 2 years with an antenna and was desperate to find an alternative.  Too expensive ($15 a month), WAY to many ads and TIVO automatically adds channels to your personalized guide to name a few.

I did my research and picked Tablo and I really want to make the change.  My issue (have the same issues with both Roku and the web app) is Tablo VERY RARELY stream without an issue.  The first channel (channel 2, CBS) in the lineup streams most of the time.  Every other channel rarely streams.  The constant error is “Failed to Stream (unknown error)” and the web app states “Player Error” (…poor reception)". I live in Los Angeles and my reception is perfect.

I have called customer service.  I have done a reset on both Roku boxes and my router, removed then re-added the tablo channel on Roku, unplugged the hard drive (which formatted perfectly), re-scanned the channels and a plethora of other suggestions from customer support all to no avail. 

My biggest issue with customer support is the hours are 9 to 5 EST, so if you’re on the west coast it’s very unhandy (to put it mildly and politely).   I got up early and called at 6 am PST.  The line was still busy after 4 attempts.  When you do get through, unless you have an international phone plan (as Tablo folks are in Canada) the call will cost you. Given the time difference and Tablo’s support hours I have trying to get this fixed for a week.

I have been speaking with David and the last thing to try is a different Tablo box.  I am hoping this resolves the issue once and for all, as I would like a reasonably priced whole home solution and would love to see this start up company succeed.

I will update this post when there is a final solution, good or bad.