(Resolved) Device Connection Issues

I just lived through this scenario:

1)  Dual Tablo was recording a show.
2)  I was connected to Tablo via the web app on my Mac - browsing recordings and scheduling others.
3)  I attempted to open the Tablo app on my iPhone.  It said connecting.  And it did not connect for a few minutes.
4)  I turned off the WiFi on my iPhone, and tried to connect using Tablo Connect via LTE - and I connected instantaneously.
5)  I turned the iPhone WiFi back on, and again, no connection.  
6)  Finally, after a 7-8 more minutes, the iPhone finally connected to my Tablo.

I’ve had other weird instances like that at other times, where some devices connect, and others don’t.  I’m not a tech expert, so bear with me if this has an obvious answer.  My guess is that my router sucks.  I have a Belkin N150 router.  I know it’s an older one, but I would expect it to be able to handle a few connections at once.  It’s not an issue of range or WiFi strength - I’ve tested and get at least 20mbps in all corners of my apartment.  Are there some settings in my router I could set to eliminate this issue?  Or should I pony up and buy a new and improved one (and if so, what routers do you all recommend)?

It could be the router but before you jump and buy a new one.

Is your Tablo wired or wireless?

It is wireless. I won’t buy a router until I do some in-depth research, so no worries there. But if I can get it working with the belkin, that would be ideal. I have to use wireless, tablo/antenna is far from router.

Right now, this has gotten even worse.  Cannot connect to Tablo on mac, iPhone, or Roku 3.  But I can connect instantly when turning off iPhone WiFi and using Tablo Connect.  So I know that the Tablo is connected to my router.  I know my hard drive is waking up - I can play recordings on Tablo Connect.  For some reason my home WiFi network is not allowing the connection.  Any ideas of what could be causing this?