Playback freezing

My new 4-tuner tablo freezes playback from livestreams and recodings on my ROKU. It’s hardwired into my 1000BT network and the ROKU is on my 802.11 a/ac/b/g/n dual-band LAN.

1 Like

Do you ever receive any kind of error message when this happens, or is the video just briefly pausing/buffering? If you reduce your Tablo’s Live TV quality settings, do you notice any difference on subsequent live TV streams?

Just get a spinning icon for a long time. If I go back to Home and reselect the recording/livestream it continues.

Yes I down-sampled and have the same problem. I know my network is rock solid I am an Electrical Engineer and regularly benchmark my network. My Archer A10 router supports 880-1733 Mbps on WLAN.

What kind of storage do you have hooked to the Tablo?

Seagate BarraCuda 1TB Internal Hard Drive HDD – 2.5 Inch SATA 6 Gb/s 5400 RPM 128MB Cache ST1000LM048 purchased 11/15/2019

Then the drive type is probably not the cause.

@nhopman It might be worth checking on/swapping out some of the ethernet cables involved. One of them may have gone bad.

That makes no sense. If I get a stall on either one of my Roku devices I can go back to “home screen” and reselect the recording. And it resumes from where it hung. So Tablo knew it hung. And the Roku’s are connected over the WLAN. So if the Tablo had a poor 802.3 wired connection how would that cause a stall on the rendering side? Have you seen an 802.3 connection stall a WLAN stream?

Is there a way to get a diagnostics dump that I can send you?

Not exactly…the updated clients continuously update the ‘current position’ while playback is going…so, the fact that it picks back up at the same place it stops simply means that up until the hang happened, it was communicating the current location :slight_smile:

Okay, I’ll change the 802.3 cable.