MCEBuddy and Comskip -- Removes commercials from TV recordings -- Anyone using it?

I am in the process of trying to automatically remove all commercials from my TV recordings.  I want to do it in such a way as to minimize human involvement.  I have purchased (well, donated technically) 2 apps to do this.  MCE Buddy and Comskip.  MCEBuddy actually uses Comskip within it’s app to do the commercial removal from the TS files.  It works well for what it does, but the Comskip is either removing too much or too little.  There are ini files that can be adjusted, but it seems there isn’t any standard ini file that works on all recorded content.  New to this, I am still learning, but it seems there are adjustments needed base on what network the content came from, what country, the quality of the recording, and just a whole slew of other factors.  What this means is, most likely some commercials will be skipped, some will be played, some will take out good content along with the commercial and others will leave bits of the commercials.

So, I am just wondering if anyone is using this here and if so, have you worked out good ini files for Comskip, or not.  

-Rodger

I have used MCEBuddy w/ Comskip and run into exactly the same issues you describe.  Broadcasters probably intentionally vary their ‘style’ of commercials in order to thwart this type of editing.  I don’t think you’ll find a ‘one size fits all’ .ini.  I gave up and just resigned myself to fast forwarding thru commercials. 

There is no automated software I know of that gets commercial skips perfect 100% of the time. Everyone I’ve tried has issues and I end up manually modifying the cut list.

At this point I’m just going to use AVIdemux and cut them out mnaullay.