ATSC 3.0 Tablo? Tablo HDMI?

Does anyone else wonder if the Tablo HDMI might be an ATSC 3.0 testbed? I have absolutely nothing to support this other then timing. I have no inside knowledge.

The timing of the Tablo HDMI is interesting now that it was pointed out to me there are ATSC 3.0 compatible tuners out there for reasonable prices that support North America. We also have active ATSC 3.0 channels out there.

Am I crazy?

IMHO, in a way. That is, it’s possible that the first ATSC 3.0 device (and maybe only) device from Tablo mandates a direct HDMI connection only (or possibly additional high speed local network to like devices only).

I say this because of all the plethora of “cheap chinese” direct connect DVR appliances out there… so why an expensive Tablo HDMI version? Maybe because… “the future”??

A HDMI model that also supports network attached devices where both the TV and the other devices need to support AC-4 and H.265.

Absolutely not

If I remember correctly the new TCL models support both(don’t quote me though).

I agree and I think I started a thread somewhere where I put forward the theory the new Tablo HDMI might be the test platform and may (fingers crossed) support 3.0 with a firmware update. Should that be the case I’ll likely buy one during the beta period.
@TabloForumAdmin Please let me know if that’s the case. I can keep my mouth shut and am willing to test!!! I can pick up the Detroit market.

The ATSC web site use to have a list of TV manufacturers who committed to have at least one model with an ATSC 3.0 tuner. Of course these are all high end models. There is a price point where consumers won’t pay an extra $40 for ATSC 3.0 tuners and AC-4.

Why would ATSC 3.0 only work or be best on an HDMI model. It uses h.265 and the compression rate for 1080i is probably 40% of the same transmission in h.264.

Maybe there wouldn’t be any transcoding for h.265.