Apple TV Broke Tablo

Warning TVOS17.2 Breaks Tablo.

Further my Tablo never worked right on Apple TV anyway. IS there an update for the older units in the works? Very frustrating the lack of communication.

Tablo confirmed to me that they were aware that tvOS and iOS 17.2 versions break Tablo so it is non-functional.

I reported it over a month ago when the new tvOS came out. The only thing you can do is pick out no more than 20 channels and delete the rest and the Apple TV should work. It has never taken this long to fix a problem before. I’ve been using a tablo for over 8 years and yea it very frustrating that Apple TV app has not be working for over a month. It stared with the new tvOS 17 17.1 and 17.2 none of them works with the tablo app.

Interesting workaround. I have about 40 active channels. Not sure if the app will be stable enough for me to drop the number, but I’ll try it.

Try it it should work. If you want to leave all your channels tablo will continue to record all channels that you have just go to the recored section. But you will lose the ability to watch live tv when the guide freezes up. Another work around is not to use the guide at all and use the other guide you use to see what next while watching tv.

WONDERFUL. Great Workaround! I had 35 channels. Dropped to 17 and all seems OK for now. Guide updates, live channels seem right, etc.

Tablo - this should be a good clue to a fix. It seems to be a memory overflow issue in iOS / tvOS 17.

Do they actually “break” the Tablo? Or do we mean that Tablo is just unable to properly function via the Apple app platforms?

2 Likes

I spoke to apple on this one a month ago. the thousands of apps on apple are notified of the updates and its put on beta many weeks before release. so its tablo failing to follow thru. the iOS upgrades are needed for security but are in beta long before public release. again tablo knew of this before release.