While we are all cutting the cord

Does anyone here still have a home phone?  If so, you can save a lot of money with VOIP, specifically the OBi 100.  I’ve been using it for the last 3 years with Google voice and haven’t paid a cent for my phone since.

Not an advertisement, just want to see if anyone doesn’t know this trick since we are all pretty like minded here

I have an Ooma Telo. Not free, sine you must pay taxes and E911 fees, which in my area run <$4. I pay $10 for premium service, which includes caller id, enhanced voicemail, and a second numbet, which I use for fax. Rock solid so far.

You’ve been able to fax using VoIP lines?  We’ve never had it work properly.

Using our ISP’s VoIP setup and paying I think $10/month for all the bells and whistles.

No phone, no fax

Nope, we cut THAT cord years ago. We decided since we had cell phones, why mess with home phone numbers and decide which to tell folks, or perhaps tell them both and try one and then the other, then I figured why not use the cell phones for our home phones. Well, then you need to have your cell phone with you or in my case, my shop is all steel and cell phones won’t work out there, what if we are downstairs with no good cell signal, etc. Lots of reasons using cell for your only phone wasn’t that great. 

No, not really, I negated all of those reasons with a Blu Tooth gateway.