What keeps you on Tablo?

Hey Everyone - I’m fairly new to Tablo, having purchased the 4th generation, four tuner back in December. Before that, I was wasting $73 USD per month on YouTubeTV. While I’m certainly happy that I am no longer wasting that money, it’s not like the transition to Tablo hasn’t been without its own challenges. I’m fortunate enough to be participating in the AppleTV Beta, but that is still a Beta product…and even once it gets to v1.0, it will not be as mature as alternatives in the market. That’s not meant to be a criticism.

This brings me to my question - and perhaps one that the Tablo team would actually like to hear the answer to:

What keeps you using Tablo? Alternatively, what keeps you from moving from Tablo to an alternative, such as HDHomerun/ChannelsDVR/Plex/Jellyfin/Emby, etc.?

I for one, look at other applications such as ChannelsDVR and wish I had something so elegant. But I also know that there’s a lot more effort required to get that up and running with a HDHomerun. I also hate the fact that there’s no built-in WiFi to the HDHomerun box (running ethernet in my attic is a non-starter)…and that I have to pay a subscription fee for Channels or Plex…which was the whole point of getting away from YouTubeTV.

Would love your thoughts on this subject!

The integration is the same here. I don’t have to run ethernet all over and can install everything in my garage with a mesh node. There are some issues with Tablo that I’ve touched on in other threads but, for the time being, this is the direction I would like to go. However I am researching other options because the issues are getting annoying.

DTV had another price hike at $90 for DTV stream and $50 for other streaming services. The $150 bill had me searching.

My wife has some local channel shows that she has been watching faithfully for a long time. She wanted to continue them.