Universal remote for roku

Since I’m new to all this , can someone tell me about a universal remote ?
I’m using two right now , my ROKU for channel changes etc., and my TV remote for volume control , and on/off ! Any suggestions would be welcome .

There is Free ROKU Remote app for your Android phone.

Works Great !

Chas

I would just add to this that on Android phones there is also Smart Remote (Peel Technologies) which can serve as a single remote that controlss on/off and volume and also controls the Roku. I don’t think the Roku Remote does not control the TV so you would still need the TV remote with the Android Roku Remote. That is not the case with the Android Smart Remote

I and many others use Logitec Harmony remotes. There are other less expensive brands that would work just fine if you are only controlling the Roku and TV. I would suggest paying Amazon a visit and read through the reviews of remotes in your price range. As cthompgh & jdoe mentioned Roku also offers a free remote app as well other app options…

I bought a universal RCA remote from BestBuy for $12. Controls my Roku, TV, Dvd.

I have a harmony but I think if your universal remote has been made within the last 5 years, you’ll be good - should have a Roku code to program it. The one disadvantage however is going from the Roku 3 RF to infrared signal. Basically you need to point the remote at the Roku - 3rd world problems!

1 Like

If you want a two device remote with a layout nearly as simple as the Roku’s there is the Audiovox RCRST02GR 2-Device Universal Streaming Remote for Roku, Apple TV, Sony.
http://www.amazon.com/Audiovox-RCRST02GR-2-Device-Universal-Streaming/dp/B00DGH31FK?&tag=rnwff-20

http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/61n0joiQ-mL.SL1500.jpg

If you can wait until December Sideclick will have its streaming remote add on ready.

https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1895389752/sideclick-streamline-your-streaming-experience-0/description

Duplicate