Thumbnails during FF

I’m fairly new to the Tablo and still on my Trial subscription and learning this thing and how it works. I have a question about the thumbnails presented during FF or REW. I like the way the thumbnails display which helps you get past either commercials or a spot where you want to stop. However I am finding sometimes the Thumbnails do not display for some recordings.

So why do they sometime appear and sometimes not display? Not sure if there is some setting or this is just a glitch in the software occasionally.

I am currently testing it out on the Roku Ultra.

Here is the official answer: https://www.tablotv.com/blog/tablo-faqs-why-dont-i-always-see-ffwd-previews/

Thanks for that reply. That answers some questions but in my case the only one that could have been an issue was the recording error. For instance I recorded the episode of Seal Team last night. 8 - 10 pm. I didn’t attempt to watch for almost 2 hours after recording was completed. No other tuner uses in progress. I had to watch the whole episode without any thumbnail display during FF.
I’ll keep monitoring.

See if it happens again on the same channel or if i happens on multiple channels. You might have just been unlucky that night, or it could be a sign of other issues. Hopefully it will be a rare occurrence.

In my experience the thumbnails are usually missing because of a reception issue (like pixelization I can see during portions of the playback) that prevents the thumbnail process from completing, but in other instances the recording looks and plays just fine (just no thumbnails). I don’t know the exact numbers, but I’d guess 1 out of every 10-15 of my recordings don’t have thumbnails.