Tablo not seen in shared devices on Mac or Windows

I would like to use the Jettsoft Tablo Exporter for ripping my DVR’d content onto my Macbook Pro 2011 (running El Capitan). Problem is, I need to see the Tablo DVR in the sidebar device list, but it’s not there. I have a Windows Desktop running 8.1 and cannot get it to show up in the devices list there either. My preference is the Macbook because I like how Tablo Exporter will use Plex naming.

So, my question is: How do I get the Tablo to show up? It was hard wired, but I moved it to wi-fi hoping that might change it. But, it still doesn’t show up.

Is it a router problem? I have an ASUS RT-N66U. I’m not too tech savvy, but can do a few things with explicit instructions.

The Tablo Exporter is the right tool for me. I’ve seen other methods, and like this particular one and all that is stopping me is the Tablo DVR not being there for me to find videos from.

Tablo Export will find the devices, you don’t need them to show up in finder

Thanks.

I had attempted to use just the Tablo Exporter, but my one and only Tablo is not showing up in the list. Does this take a long time to find?

No it should find it right away. What version of Tablo and what version of the Exporter??

OK - I didn’t look at the Tablo Firmware version before I ok’d a new update prompt this morning. I’m hoping that fixes it. I had not logged into my Tablo through IOS in a long time so I expected there might be an update prompt yesterday, but never got one. This morning, it was there.

Unfortunately, I forgot to switch it back to Ethernet. It’s been on “Retrieving Update Information” after downloading/install/re-boot for about 25 minutes now. I have to leave for about 2 hours shortly and will leave my iPhone home, plugged in. It will be another 30 minutes before I leave. I hope it’s done.

Is this unusual for wifi? It downloaded the update rather fast (I have 110/10 Mbps). I think this is the last stage of the update that is taking so long.