Tablo 4 Tuner Recording Problem

Hi,

I purchased a refurbished Tablo 4 Tuner during Black Friday for $99 to replace my Channelmaster DVR+ which I loved, but it eventually died.

The problem I am having is I can’t record more than one show successfully at a time.
If I record more than one at a time it breaks up into several small fragments because it has rebooted multiple times, sometimes I can record two shows at a time and it will record each successfully, but rarely. Live TV reboots if I start watching one channel then switch to another. I can watch one live channel fine. But can’t switch channels without it rebooting.

I’ve been emailing Tablo tech support for several months now and have tried everything they have suggested.

I have an exterior Clearstream 4max antenna. My hard drive is a 1-TB Toshiba Canvio HDTB410.

Customer Service said it might be the signal. So I added an amplifier, and still the same problem. The last thing they suggested was that my hard drive might be failing, so I reformatted it on my computer, checked it for errors and it has nothing wrong with it.
The only thing I have left to try is a hard drive with its own power supply. I’m pretty convinced this Tablo is just a lemon that I’m stuck with.

I would buy the new hard drive if I knew for sure that will fix the problem. I really don’t want to spend anymore money and it not fix the problem. Has anyone else fixed this problem with a hard drive that has its own power supply?

Thx,

Tina

Try a new hard drive.

If that doesn’t fix if, fragmented recordings due to rebooting is usually caused by poor OTA signal.

Or if the Tablo is actually defective the refurb comes with 1 year warranty so they should replace it for free.