Setting tablo to use an public IP address

Is there a way to make tablo use a specific IP? I notice sometimes its using my public IP address and works great, but other times it switches to a private IP like 192.168.1.175 then remote access stops working.

Also is anyone else beside me having an issue with tablo stop playing after a minute or two and just freeze or return to the program guide I am using Iphone 8 with the latest IOS,

Thanks for any feedback!

John

Your tablo uses DHCP to get it’s IP address, it neither sets it’s own nor has a setting for you to set one.

An option is to set a Static Lease Reservation for it on your router.

That would make it stick with whatever 192.168.x.x address you would reserve but not change the fact jreding is saying it uses its public VS private network address…

I am also a newbie to Tablo and was successful in making it work in a scenario where the box is at my friend’s with a great antenna setup and i watch at home a few kms away from there.

are you using in house on your local network? or remote streaming?

A lot depends on the vast variety of network topologies available. Generally your router assigns IPs via DHCP and access devices on your LAN via local address.

If your using your “public” address… it’s possible it’s your WAN IP for your router, setup for remote streaming.

I’m not sure…

it’s a straight-forward fact.

I’m a bit of a networking geek/nerd, would love to see some kind of white paper describing how the tablo implements this remote accessing, and validates who is allowed, and how the server machine at Tablo HQ works insofar as acting on the traffic coming in from the Tablo clients and Tablo box receiving the antenna signal.

I know this part, via F connector, most likely RG6 coax.