Sensitivity of tuner compared to TV tuner?

I have a ChannelMaster DVR+. I get much better antenna reception when connected to my TV directly than through the DVR+. I have read similar complaints online about the Tivo DVR product. That means some broadcast stations I can watch on my TV will not work well through the dvr.

I am wondering if the Tablo would work better. Anyone know how the Tablo tuner sensitivity compares with a standard TV tuner?

“If your signal is already quite strong, you may be able to split your signal between two devices (like a Tablo DVR and a single TV) without the need for a distribution amplifier. However, unlike a TV with a single tuner, your Tablo OTA DVR contains either 2 or 4 tuners which can result in some signal loss despite its built-in pre-amplifier.”

So, generally speaking, a TV is probably going to have at least a bit better signal since it’s a single tuner.

This is probably a dumb question but here goes. I’ve wondered about splitters (even at some level the split that is going on inside of a Tablo). Does the signal only become weaker if both tuners are actively in use “drawing” signal for active “use”, or does the split only ever make half of the signal available at any time whether both tuners are currently in use or not?

I do not have a splitter. I have a physical switch. The antenna connects first to a ChannelMater signal amplifier. Then via the switch it goes directly either to the TV or the DVR.

My suggestion is to make the setup as simple as possible, and temporarily remove the switch and extra cables. A connection directly to the antenna is the best test. Any connector (even the barrel connectors that connect two cables together) will have some loss on signal. They can also create noise that prevents good reception (a cable is shielded, connectors, splitters, and switches are not).