Scanned channel found in SD only, where is HD?

Is there any reason why the Tablo would only find a particular channel in its SD version rather than the existing HD version (which I though was broadcast simultaneously)? Does the HD transmission require a stronger signal? (Obviously, I am still new at this.)

If it helps at all, I am talking about channel 28.1 / WNYF (Fox), which I get from Watertown, NY all the way here in Ottawa thanks to my professionally-installed Winegard 4400 4-Bay antenna with preamp. I also get 28.2 / WWNY (CBS) in HD without any issues from the same station, though Tablo did have to get the guide added for me.

David from Tablo told me that they haven’t actually been able to get 28.1 at all in Ottawa and seems to consider the matter closed (or just hasn’t answered my latest question yet). But I do get 28.1 – just not in HD…

Would such an issue be familiar to anyone?
Thanks

Is your antenna for UHF or VHF? I would recommend you have a combo UHF/VHF antenna because it is a hassle to track down if the “display channel” is “broadcast channel VHF” or “broadcast channel UHF”. Changing my antenna from a standard HDTV antenna with no claim (Mohu Leaf 50 amplified) to one that mentions UHF and VHF gave me more channels.

That’s an interesting station. It looks like if you are in one location, 28.1 is in HD, and if you are in another location, 28.1 in in SD. Since you can pick up 28.2, it looks like your 28.1 is the SD one (according to Wikipedia).

I am not sure how the Tablo tries to handle two signals with the same channel number. It might just be going with the one with the greatest strength.