New User, Kind of Dissapointed

I have been reading these forums for about a year now and I have also read and watched a lot of reviews on the Tablo. I went as far as to add it to my Amazon wish list, but didn’t actually buy until a couple of weeks ago. One thing I’m kicking myself for is waiting to buy when I did. It was $199 on Amazon, dropped to $160 and then went back to $197. I didn’t buy when it dropped to $160 because I honestly thought I had time since Amazon rarely drops the price and then takes it back to almost the original price.

Anyways, I bought it, along with a 1TB WD Elements drive. Right off the bat I was dissappointed. Just a quick background, I’m an RF professional with roughly 15 years of experience behind me. If there is anything I know, it’s antennas, feedline, LNAs and RF in general. I decided to put up a good quality antenna at about 30’ on my tower. The feedline from the antenna to the Tablo is roughly 50’. Initially, I didn’t install an LNA at the base of the antenna, I have a 30dB LNA to install at some point on my tower.

With a standard HD TV, I did a channel scan and was able to pick up about 10-12 channels with decent signal strength. Good enough that I could hold the channel for viewing. Here is one of my complaints with the Tablo, it can only see four of these channels. I question the sensitivity of the receiver in the Tablo. I knew that I was putting all of my eggs in one basket by going to the Tablo, hinging it on the quality/performance of the receiver in the Tablo. So far, I’m not impressed. Yes, I plan to install the LNA right at the antenna to hopefully improve, but I honestly could have just used several TV’s and their built in receivers, along with an amplified distribution amp and came in at less than what I have invested in the Tablo and the WD drive.