New router in the house, guess who's not getting along with it?

I’ve been using a Belkin N750DB router for about 6 years with little to no issues with any devices, even Tablo. I was one of the fortunate ones who was not suffering with the LPW messages and for the most part Tablo has been a pleasure to use. I have a 2 tuner Tablo running for about 15 months now.

Recently I’ve started to notice the router dropping connections when the kids are over with spouses and friends all connected to the old N750 so I started looking at new routers. Sticker shock has pretty much kept me from buying anything new especially since the problems only happen when there is a house full of additional users. Then I came across a Belkin AC1600 DB router, new in a sealed box, for only $59.99 on ebay. So I purchased it. With so little invested I figured it was worth a try. It performs fast and flawlessly with my laptop, desktop, ipad, Android tablet, Android phone, 2 Nexus players, 3 Rokus, Vonage and 6 or more Android phones or tablets or laptops when the kids are over. And it has a strong signal to all rooms in my house.

Then there’s the Tablo. It connected fine the first time but then the next day it would not connect. The only thing that fixes it is to either restart the Tablo (unplug, then replug) or restart the router, or both, about every other day. I’ve tried every sequence of starting/restarting but nothing sticks. I have the ip address for Tablo reserved so that’s not the issue. And it is wired to the router. Sometimes it says I don’t have permission to connect to the Tablo (mostly on my ipad). Other times it says something about failing to authenticate. Before I send in a ticket does anyone have a quick trick/fix for me? I’d hate to go back to the old router seeing as it works fine with every other device.

1 Like