My Sony TV turns on unexpectedly all times of day/night

I have a Sony Bravia and recently installed a Tablo. Tablo set up without issues. Unfortunately my Sony turns on at all times without any commands such as scheduled recording. I even looked at the recorded shows listings and do not have anything scheduled. We have to turn the TV volume all the way down before going to bed because the TV audio wakes everyone up when the TV turns on by itself in the middle of the night.

It does not turn on at any particular time of day or night. I set up Tablo remote to turn the TV on when power button is used on the Tablo remote control.

When going to sleep move the remote far away from the TV, just to rule out any malfunction happening there.

Try removing and re-adding the app.

Going on a limb here since I’m not an expert. Is it a Tablo HDMI connected directly to your Sony Bravia? If so, it could be a Consumer Electronics Control (CEC) issue. CEC is a feature that allows hardware to control each other over the HDMI connection. The Tablo HDMI’s do support that. In which case I supposed there is a chance your Tablo is deciding to wake up the TV. To test this theory you might want to disable CEC in both your TV and Tablo with the potential obvious side-effect that the Tablo control can’t turn on the TV.

If you don’t have an HDMI Tablo directly connected to your TV but some other external device such as a Roku or Fire TV, then they all have similar CEC related features and have the power to turn on the TV.

Considering all the permutations of versions of Tablo vs. external devices vs. TV brands and connection options, you probably need to be more detailed about your specific setup to get more relevant help.

1 Like

When I saw the turn TV off thing on Roku, I wondered if that was how it would work.

I have the Tablo going to my modem router via ethernet cable and the HDMI connects the Tablo to the sony tv.