Is there a way to get remote access functioning when I am not at home to direct connect?

In the past I have successfully used Tablo when away from home. It has broken a couple of times, but have been able to get it going again when I am home.

The run is I am away from home until the last few days of January and do not have access from Chrome, Edge, an Firefox, nor the Windows Tablo App.

My son has already reset both the home router and the Tablet device, but to no avail.

Is there anything else I can try remotely?

1 Like

No super simple option unfortunately, especially already being remote. You can set up a VPN server at your home, logging into that remotely is essentially logging into your local intranet, allowing you to be seen by the Tablo as if at home.

That’s the only alternative and unless your son is networking savvy, not likely an option that will work for you.

Try this https://www.homingsystems.com/. I’ve been using it for several months now. It let’s you connect to home, it’s an easy solution.

1 Like

This setup is a bit frustrating. I guess they are trying to make it easier for most customers to enable “away from home” by “syncing at home”. But if I happen to have an actual URI pointing to my home router and the correct ports are open, why can’t I simply connect to exposed port? Is there a handshake (e.g. security or encryption) that gets established during the sync? I guess there isn’t any security from inside the network, so I figure this might be it. Couldn’t we use some sort of authentication with the Tablo device?

Agreed. On an initial review, it looks like I will need another box at home, which does not solve my immediate problem. I am investigating a VPN, which my son or a neighbor can install.
I did subscribe to the homingsystems.com service, but will likely ask for a refund.

I just tried this:

• Activated the OpenVPN access through my Asus RT-AC88U w/ Asuswrt-Merlin firmware.