How to remove black bar at top of TV screen

I’m new to Tablo and after getting it set up on our big screen TV a black bar appears at the top of the screen. On the right side of the bar is the time and a wifi indicator and on the left side is a box with a check mark in it. While being able to see the time is handy the bar covers up most of the menu icon and it’s hard to click on it to get to the menu. The bar doesn’t appear on the computer, only on the TV. Is there a way to get rid of the bar?

Thanks,

AP

AP,

I think that the bar is from your TV, not the Tablo. Check your TV settings. I’ve never seen that type of bar on any Tablo application (I’ve used PC, Roku, FireTV Stick, and Chromecast).

How are you displaying the Tablo UI on the TV? What kind of TV or what streamer box are you using? It sounds like you’re trying to use a web browser app on the TV, which is probably not what you want to do.

Hey FlyingDiver, I’m using an MXQ Android box and added the Tablo add-on through the Google Play Store. I moved the box from our main tv to another tv and the bar is still there except now the icons on the left are a small box with the letter A in it and two icons that look like keyholes.

I checked the TV settings but couldn’t find anything that would allow me to remove the bar.

I did a little googling of that box. I think the bar is an artifact of the custom app launcher they use. It’s not Tablo doing it.

I agree, that is not an Android TV box, it is just a box running Android 5.1 so the OS is different than say what is on the Nexus Player or NVIDIA Shield.

The Tablo app was designed for Android smartphones and tablets, and Android TV devices such as the Nexus Player, NVIDIA Shield, etc.

And yes the Fire TV is technically Android based as well but that’s a different app.