HDHomerun vs Tablo transcoding

I just got my QUAD a few days ago. I’m looking to replace my MythTV system that I’ve been running in one form or another for about 15 years.

Currently that consists of a couple of HDHomerun Extends (the ones that transcode to h264) hooked into a small server that runs the backend. For frontends we have Kodi running on a couple of Nvidia Shields and an XBox. That set-up works great, but I was looking for something more consumer-grade that Just Works, and the QUAD looked like it would fit the bill.

Now that I have it up and running, I really like the Tablo app. But there are a couple of things that bother me. First is the limitation of 24 hours of guide data in the grid. Over time that’s something I could get used to. And anyway it looks like they are expanding it to show the full 14 days starting with Roku clients.

What might be the deal-breaker for me, though, is the picture quality of interlaced channels.

I have my HDHomeruns set to use their “heavy” transcode profile: transcode to AVC with the same resolution, frame-rate, and interlacing as the original stream. For example 1080i60 -> AVC 1080i60, 720p60 -> AVC 720p60. So all the deinterlacing is done on the client side, and the resulting picture quality is great.

The Tablo is configured to use the “HD 1080 - 10Mbps, 720@60fps” quality setting for both live TV and recordings. But unlike the HDHomerun, the Tablo does the deinterlacing at the time of transcoding, and appears to use a simple line-doubling. To me, the result looks horrible on a big screen. I guess some people don’t notice it or care, but it drives me nuts. I notice it mostly on small text and line graphics which get all jaggy, but the overall picture is a little soft, too.

I had read reviews before buying and knew that some people were not happy with the picture quality. Now I understand, and I’m part of that group.