Hard drive related pixelation?

I have a 4 tuner tablo and a WD 1 TB passport ultra that I have been using without problem for about ten months now.

About a week ago I started occasionally having some pixelation issues with some random channels. Sometimes pixelation on one channel but not the other, sometimes the other but not the first.

After doing a bunch of other things which had no effect on the issue, I discovered that if I disconnect my hard drive I get a clear signal on all channels. Reconnect the hard drive and random channel pixelation occurs.

I saw a couple of threads where a question was asked about disconnecting the hard drive and checking the results, but those threads didn’t have any further information about the issue.

Is anyone familiar with this issue? Is it possible to get back to normal functioning if I reformat my hard drive? Does it sound like I need a new hard drive? Are there other matters at play that I need to look into?

Try connecting your hd to the other usb port, maybe there is some internal interference on the original port Or maybe the drive itself is creating the issue/interference, try another hd as a quick test.

Thanks for the reply. I tried something else this morning, and it looks like it is a problem with two of my tuners.

I went in to live TV and picked four different channels and started recordings. I checked in on those recordings and found a good picture on two of the channels and pixelation on two channels. I stopped recording on one of the channels with a good picture and started down the list of channels (excluding the three that I had started recordings on) and was getting a good picture on every channel.

Then I started a fourth recording again with that tuner. I stopped recording on one of the channels that was showing up with pixelation, and started trying to watch live TV with that tuner. Every channel that I selected showed up with pixelation.