Dual HDMI Becomes Sluggish if Not Reset for a While

Morning folks:

I’ve been using a Dual HDMI for a few months now and, in general, am very pleased with the unit. However, I’ve seen at least two instances where the user interface became sluggish and the video started stuttering intermittently. In both cases, a reset solved the problem. While it is nice that there is an “easy” solution, as a firmware engineer I can tell you that such symptoms usually indicate “memory leaks” (firmware defects).

In addition to the above symptoms, when the system was in its sluggish state and I was playing a video, hard drive accesses were very frequent. However, after the system was reset and was operating normally, hard drive access were much less frequent when watching the exact same show. This further supports the theory that not all allocated memory is being freed when no longer needed (likely resulting in much less memory available for use as buffers for playing video, ultimately resulting in sluggish operation).

Given the above, it sounds like you folks have some memory leak related defects in the design and/or implementation of the firmware that should be hunted-down.

-Michael

1 Like

Yup, that’s why everyone is complaining about it everyday.

What about the app/device you’re using to access the tablo? Frequently a single user reports a bug which they’re the only one finding it. It’s super how you’ve already found the solution.

I’m using the Dual HDMI version of the Tablo. Right now I only use it connected directly to my Sony Bravia via HDMI. No “app”.

While I believe I understand what’s going on, locating and correcting “memory leaks” is a very challenging business. Unfortunately, it’s probably one of the most common defects with software and firmware that dynamically allocates memory, but a reset will always fix it (at least temporarily). That’s why “reset” is always at the top of the trouble-shooting flowchart! ;^)

-Michael