Did anyone have a better experience with the dual vs. quad

We had a dual for about a week and all was fine, but I upgraded it to a quad because I wanted more tuners. The quad seemed good at first, but then we ended up having some issues with it where things would just be a problem. It seems slower just to view live TV, and I had it drop out/buffer on my Roku (which the dual never did with the dual). Last night I went to watch one of my favorite shows and it was split into 4 pieces because of signal quality. Too frustrating and too many problems so it is going back to Amazon. Now I wonder, should I get the dual again? Were these problems related to the quad specifically?

I’m no expert, but I would assume that the Quad is internally splitting your OTA signal into 4 versus the Dual splitting it into 2.

Your antenna and/or placement of the antenna was “good enough” to be split into 2 with the Dual, but it is “marginal/not good enough” for the Quad.

Each split of the signal coming from your antenna reduces the signal, thus you are getting buffering, split recordings, etc.

Before you send it back to Amazon, open a ticket with the Tablo team and they might be able to find out the quality of your OTA antenna signal is.

both the Quad and Dual units compensate for split loss with some amplification AFAIK.

That’s correct…

@alank2 It sounds like some additional tweaking of your setup might be required for you to have a solid experience.

Buffering in general is a symptom of a slow WiFi network although sometimes it can be due to incompatible storage.

Split recordings is usually a symptom of weak signals from your antenna (you’ll want to make sure all of your channels have 5 green dots) but again, it can sometimes be caused by poor storage.

It’s certainly worth opening a ticket with support so they can take a closer look at things and give you a few tips.

There’s also some great help documents here: