Can I accomplish what I want with a network connected system?

Hi All,

I am new to Tablo devices and I am probably out of touch with the current technology concerning DVR’s in general. I would like to describe my current home setup and get input on whether or not a network connected DVR would be a viable option for me.

The reason for this post is that I recently purchased a DUAL HDMI TV Connected DVR, and I’m having less than optimal results with it (you can read my posts in that forum for more background). I’ve resisted getting a network connected DVR, but maybe I don’t understand the technology well enough.

Over the years I created a home setup that I’m very pleased with. High quality sound is an important part of my viewing experience, so the main part of my home setup is a A/V receiver with 7 HDMI inputs and 2 HDMI outputs.

On the Sonic side, I have 2 satellite speakers, a center channel speaker, 2 rear surround sound speakers and a powered sub-woofer attached to the A/V receiver.

My video sources are an OTA DVR (formerly a Channel Master DVR+ Now the Tablo DUALHDMI), a DVD player, a Chrome Cast, and an XBox.

With this setup I can select between any input device and get video on my TV and full range Dolby 5.1 surround sound through the A/V receiver.

We have 2 TVs in our house, one in the TV room and one in the bedroom. Years ago I purchased a 50 ft HDMI cable and ran it down the wall, under the crawl space, across the house and into the bedroom. That allows us to watch from any input source on either or both TVs (we can only watch one program source at a time). The TV in the bedroom is not a smart TV, and I don’t remember if it has an Ethernet connection or not, but I don’t have any Ethernet cable run to that room in any event.

I live in a rural area and my internet connection is sub par, 3 to 5 MB down and 1 up.

I don’t believe that a network connected DVR will work for me, but I’d like to know if I’m missing some obvious option.

Thanks !!