Better SATA hard drives?

Looking for a thread detailing known working drives, I came across the existing thread that is aimed at USB drives.

I want to try using the SATA support in a QUAD with something like a Firecuda 2TB SSHD or maybe a WD Black 1TB 7200rpm (model WD10SPSX) to get best speed balance for reads & writes. Is there a reason that many use the USB drives, perhaps? Total newbie to Tablo here…

I am not a hoarder, so larger drives likely won’t benefit me much. 2TB or maybe even 1TB seems right-sized.

I did see the suggestion about putting my Tablo on top of a tablet fan (x3 or better) to avoid heat probs.

Tablo usb is 2.0 so 7200 is total overkill and waste. I have been using the same seagate 2TB portable drive with both on a laptop cooler for over 5 years.

1 Like

https://www.tablotv.com/setup-networking/#harddrive

There are no speed or performance benefits from USB 3.0 and solid state drives (SSD) vs. USB 2.0 and spinning drives.

1 Like

The original Tablo only used USB drives. Which is why you see only USB drives in the working drive thread. When I bought the Quad I reused the USB drive from a 2-tuner table about 5 years old now. I took the 2TB drive out of the USB case (ST20000LM003-HM). Take note of the drive height. Last I checked anything over 2TB would not fit in the Quad, but I am sure that will change. I have my tablos on a vented shelf in the basement it keeps things pretty cool year round. I have had no problems. I did do a full badblocks read/write test while waiting in the Quad to arrive just to be safe no defects found

I have seen 2TB USB Seagate for $60.00 US, sometimes cheaper than bare drives.

From the website, Tablo Quad supports:

Up to 8TB internal 2.5" SATA drive
(7mm or 9.5mm heights)