Apple TV performance enhancements

The iOS app on iPad vastly outperforms the Apple TV version. As an Apple developer I have to believe this is a Tablo software issue not a limitation of the Apple TV hardware.

1. Guide takes forever to load. It’s nearly instant on iPad.

2. Skip ahead takes forever (5 seconds or more for a ten second skip). The iPad does a 30 second skip in a second or so.

3. No 30 second skip. Probably Tablo cut it to 10 seconds because the performance was so bad.

Those are my biggest complaints. I hope getting performance up to par with iPad is a top priority.

General features that seem like low hanging fruit to me:

1. Sort options for Recordings. I would prefer newest first over alphabetical.

2. Limit number of recordings to a user entered max. Delete the oldest when limit is reached.

Oh one more: an onscreen clock!

I actually find the Apple TV way faster than the iPad or iPhone apps. The ATV’s guide load is near instant whereas the iPad and iPhone take anywhere from 15-30 seconds to boot up. Same with skipping ahead, the ATV buffers in about 3 seconds where the iDevices can take up to 10 seconds or so. Once connected I find changing channels takes the same amount of time regardless of device (usually 5-10 seconds).

1 Like

Thanks a ton for the feedback and feature requests, you guys! The team’s got lots planned for future releases. I’ve sent this their way.

Interesting. This is definitely not my experience at all with the Apple TV, and I’ve been using it as my primary means of watching content going back to the original release on June 17th.