Antenna Signal Strength Varies With/Without Tablo 4 Tuner DVR

I am new to the Tablo TV community and recently began running some tests to determine if the Tablo 4 tuner can be part of my solution to cutting the cable cord. I initially setup a Mohu Arc 40 HDTV antenna directly to one of my 4 TVs. I received over a dozen local channels and even a few from beyond the range that I had expected. Once I hooked the Mohu antenna to the Tablo 4 Tuner DVR (only one TV in use), the number of stations that I was able to receive was reduced to about 6-7. I even lost signal on some of the local stations. Since the antenna is in the same location as before and pointed in the same direction, I was surprised at the decrease in performance. I had assumed that the signal, once split among the 4 tuners would be amplified to maintain signal level. This doesn’t appear to be the case. Is this typical performance when inserting the Tablo 4 Tuner DVR into the mix?

Google “digital cliff” - you’ve fallen off the cliff.

And what was the signal strength of the various channels when the antenna was direct connect? Close to the digital cliff?

Maybe a amplifier would help or a different antenna or relocating the antenna even a few feet can help or repositioning the antenna a few degrees can help.

1 Like

Is the antenna amplified? Tablo has internal 4 way splitter. If you are splitting it prior to Tablo that can be part of the problem.

Also if you’re going with Mohu for a nice indoor antenna, get the Mohu Leaf Glide. It is amplified and has a larger distance than your current Mohu. This should prevent the cliff effect.

http://store.gomohu.com/leaf-glide-indoor-hdtv-antenna.html

1 Like