Another Clone HD Thread - A Mac User

I’m upgrading/downsizing from a fullsize external (with power supply) 3TB drive to the WD Elements 2TB drive.

Now I don’t want to try and watch everything before I do the switch so searching this site i’ve seen some threads on successes of doing a drive clone. But most people are using windows - I have a MAC

What I’m currently in the process of is using dd in OSX’s terminal to do a bit level clone. By plugging in the current HD OSX states that it can’t read the drive, but I just ignored that. I also first plugged in the new drive to the tablo so it was formatted but nothing recorded, then hooked it to the Mac

It’s been running dd for about 12 hours, but I have no prior experience with dd so I don’t know how long it will take. The existing 3TB HD only had roughly 500GB used. So no idea if it has to go over the whole thing or just what’s been used. Also of course they are both connected by USB.

Anyone have any experience with dd clones of a HD in OSX??

Most of us went small to large. Mine ran over 24 hours then windows closed it because of not enough memory. I lived with it and lost a few episodes of Adam 12.4

I am a Mac person also, but don’t know how to do this, but would like to know if it works for you. I don’t really know much about terminal. I would like to go to a larger drive but move over about 1TB. Hope you figure this out.

I’ve read a lot about this…the key will be to see if going larger to smaller will work or not. The interwebs seem to be conflicted in this regard. Some say it will work so long as the larger is not completly full and I’ll have to resize/fix the partition because of the size difference.