AirPlay and Fast Forward

So I’ve been digging into as many of the forum threads as I can find, as well as reviews and such, but I can’t seem to find the answer to one basic question. I use Apple TV in the house to 3 TVs. If I am using AirPlay from Tablo and do a standard fast forward or rewind, will I see the actual video on screen as the fast forward moves along, or does the screen go black? My understanding is that the “live fast forward” is a function of including HLS IFRAME coding in the HLS manifest, and given that Tablo now supports thumbs for Roku FFW, it seems like this should work on Apple TV without an issue and without requiring a “custom third party native app”. I can see the video preview during FFW and RW when watching a standard MP4 over the network… and Netflix can do “live FFW” as well. Any luck here?

What device are you using to AirPlay to your Apple TV? iPad or iPhone?

I’m an Apple developer. I can use either. I haven’t received my Tablo yet. I have several iPhones (of various models) and iPads (of various models).

From Apple’s documentation, all that is required for FFW and RW scrubbing is an IFRAME only playlist available in the master HLS manifest ->
“The #EXT-X-I-FRAMES-ONLY playlist can be used for preview images while scrubbing through the content.”

1 Like

I am an Apple developer as well and have the 4 tuner Tablo. There are separate apps for the iPhone and the iPad. The iPhone app was recently updated and has a scrub bar offering 4 seeds of scrubbing, Full, Half, Qtr and Fine. As you scrub the picture will jump along with your progress but the picture but will not produce the smooth scrolling that I have seen available in other apps. With the older iPad app there is one scrolling speed and it will show the picture where you started your scrub until such time as you lift your finger at which time it will jump to the new location.