2 year tablo review

BACKGROUND:
As a retired IT professional I was early to the “Cord cutting” scene and experimented with Apple Tv and i am now running Raspberry pI2 with Kodi on board running openelec OS to one TV hdmi input… I also have another TV hdmi input dedicated for a roku 3 with Tablo interface. This layout is installed replicated for both upstairs and downstairs media centers in my house. on my router for my music files and video collection I also have a NAS (Network accessible storage) external hard drive on my router I run VPN on some devices
I have setup, over the last two years, 5 similiar media centers with similiar equipment for my family members. All connectivity is cat 5 Ethernet as I personally detest wifi for audio and streaming. ( too much buffering)
Tablo PROS…
GUI:
The tablo channel GUI on the Roku is smart, efficient and very very senior friendly.( important if you have a family member who previously used the Rogers PVR system)… compared to the steeper user curve required for kodi raspberry pi2 solution which is more detailed but which more than adequately captures the same programming without antenna as the tablo solution with antenna
BANDWITH:
With the tablo you use no bandwidth and are not adding to your monthly internet data cap. This is a consideration if you intend to maximize your recordings with the tablo unit and playback at your leisure.
RECORDINGS:
The picture clarity of the recordings is excellent. Some hangs on playback but not a big negative

Tablo CONS:
EPG
The cost of the EPG to canadians is excessive 69.00 annually. Surprising given that this is a canadian company. While i understand the company need to generate a downstream revenue model the EPG will force many of us to reconsider paying for an EPG as their are no fee alternatives.
BILLING: