What really irritates me about Tablo TV and other DVR manufacturers

I am new to DVRs but since I’ve owned a Tablo OTA DVR, I have some comments to make. First off, the DVR technology is actually much more controlled and there seems to be no standard protocol for DVR manufacturers. Case in point: the Tablo TV OAT units cannot just allow you to swap out Tablo hard drives for friends that may own a Tablo. I am thinking this is all purposely done, not just some lazy fluke on the part of the engineers. Because of this, and other annoyances, I may opt to return my Tablo 4-channel unit and never purchase another DVR again.

I like the ability to trade content; there should be no other reason to stop it, short of selling it for a profit, which should be illegal anyways. But the manufacturers are doing this purposely and it’s wrong. The digital age surely has made it easier to swap content, unlike having everything stored on large VHS tapes. However, this does not mean that they have to make our lives difficult.

Shame on Tablo and its engineering department for doing this non-swappable hard drive configuration. I am no engineer but you will never get me to believe that it’s so, so hard to configure the unit so that people can share hard drives among their friends. Also, the content should be drag-and-drop, much like MP4 and AVI files, not this clumsy garbage that makes sharing content impossible via their proprietary formats. Even if Tablo keeps their video files in a proprietary format, they should still make it easy to share with other people who might live, say next door to you.

If all else, I at least had enough time to learn about an issue I had no knowledge of. This is so, so annoying. Sorry Tablo, you guys have work to do, and so do other DVR manufacturers.