Tablo reliability?

Hi,
Do your Tablos crash or lockup often, causing them to miss recordings?
I bought a Tablo a couple weeks ago. It seems to work ok. We missed out on a show tonight that we were looking forward to because the Tablo decided to just stop working, locked up hard, and recorded nothing.
Im extremely upset, but I honestly want to know if this is going to be a regular thing, or if Tablo is normally pretty reliable for you guys, and this was a fluke? I am a tech nerd and I really want to love Tablo…but I don’t want to troubleshoot it constantly, I want it to just work. I thought for 300$ it would be pretty reliable. Eyeballing a Tivo Bolt now, that’s how low I’ve sunk!

Thanks,

I can’t speak for everyone but mine has never missed a recording. I had thought I missed one, but I’m pretty sure I forgot to set it.

2 Likes

I have never had my Tablo lock up. Is yours in a well ventilated area? Nothing on top of it?

1 Like

Yeah, it’s just sitting on a desk, nothing around it. With a tiny external drive on top. It’s in the basement, which lately it about 65 degrees. When I picked it up to reboot it, the bottom was REALLLY warm. The top where the hard was, was not. :confused:

You have the USB HDD stacked on top of the Tablo device? That’s a Nono for heat dissipation.

Snap a photo and upload it to this thread via the browser on the phone to be clear. I would put the Tablo is a well ventilated area with no device underneath or on top of it.

2 Likes

Also place your Tablo on its side to help with the heat.

2 Likes

I elevate my Tablo on a very thin and small cardboard box … (and definitely do not stack the hard drive). It has been 100% reliable once I adopted this strategy. Turning it on it’s side is interesting; I did not think of that!

1 Like