Table Box Freezes - Have to unplug to reboot

I have been using the Tablo 4 channel for a few months now. Three times in the past week I lose connection. iPad, Android box, iPhone, amazon fire stick all cannot make a connection. It seems as though the Tablo box itself freezes up. The only way I know to reboot it is to unplug the power for a few seconds and then all connectivity is back up? Could this be from the recent update? I didn’t see any other complaints like this on the forum.

Next time this happens, can you please reboot your router first? Then see if you can connect to the Tablo?

It may not be the Tablo, could be a networking issue.

@jpwdesign - The best way to reset your Tablo is to press the blue button on the back (don’t hold it down) vs. yanking the power. That way Tablo can do a controlled shutdown.

Next time this happens, I agree that you should reboot your router, your Tablo and then the device you’re trying to access it on. That usually makes sure that everything gets talking correctly again.

I had this same issue and heat was the major culprit. I bought a laptop cooling mat and put the Tablo on that and it has been behaving much better since then.

I have seen this a couple of times as well, since the 2.2.8 upgrade. It happened just yesterday and I tried resetting using the blue reset button as you suggested but it wouldn’t reset. I had to pull the power cord to get it cleared, and then everything started working again

I think the problem with pulling the power cord is that there could be some background maintenance or other hard drive access that is being pushed to the Tablo at that moment that you may not be aware of and if you pull the power cord and disrupt it, you could corrupt the data stored on the hard drive (which would then require a factory reset). So that is why the reset button and controlled reboot is a much better alternative.