Solving "Loading, Please wait"

I’m getting loading please wait very frequently while watching live tv. It also often gets stuck in a ~5 second loop. This sometimes happens while watching recorded shows too, but not nearly as often. It used to only happen right when I first started watching live tv, but has recently gotten worse. I’m trying to stream to roku 3. Of note, my ipad doesn’t work very well either (and never has). My Tablo isn’t anywhere near my tv because of where I could get a signal, so it is connected wirelessly to my network. My roku is also connected wirelessly. I believe I have the most up to date software for for both roku and tablo (how would i check this?)

I can think of a few possible problems:

The signal to the antenna is bad. (I wouldn’t think this would be a problem while watching recorded programs though.)
The wireless network within my house isn’t up to snuff. (I have no idea. I’m not technical enough for this question.)
Roku just isn’t very good. (But since ipad is actually worse for me, i doubt this.)

What roku do you have? Is it updated to the latest firmware? What does your wifi equipment look like (modem and router)? What speeds do you pull down (check at speedtest.net)?

It’s roku 3 running the latest firmware.

Wifi equipment: Modem: Arris Surfboard SB6121, Router: Netgear N900 Model: R4500

Speedtest:

Ping: 11ms, Download: 2.37Mbps, Upload: 6.14Mbps (Just curious why this matters. I have no problem with streaming services like netflix or hulu. They work flawlessly.

Having your Tablo & Roku both wireless is not very good.

Can you connect your Tablo to your router with an ethernet cable?

What kind of problem are you running into when you try to watch from your iPad?

The Tablo is on the third floor near the antenna, and the router is on the first floor where the cable jack is. I don’t think I could change that without getting an electrician to run wires through the wall.