Router Suggestions?

I’m moving. My new ISP does not supply a router (I was told no modem is needed as it’s fiber-optic). I don’t know anything about routers. I’d like a reasonably simple and reasonably priced router that will work well with Tablo. Right now, I have Uverse and I have never been able to get my Tablo Connect to work because of the stupid Uverse router. Even Tablo support couldn’t get it configured.

Optinet, the new ISP says any router except Belkins will work. With my current router, I’m using Powerline Adapters, and that will likely continue in the new house as the internet connection is not near the TV.

Suggestions, from experience, would be very much appreciated! Preferably, something I can purchase on Amazon as I have Prime shipping.

Please keep in mind that I’m NOT a techie wizard. Just an old lady who got tired of paying an exorbitant cable bill. :blush:

P.S. I’m leaning towards this one: Linksys EA6350 as it’s Amazon’s Choice and has great reviews. Anyone tried it?

Isn’t Belkin the parent company of Linksys.

And if you plan on using AC WiFi, why would a Linksys EA6350 with a speed of AC1200 be better then a Netgear R6700-100NAS with a speed of AC1750.

The price of the two is the same.

Yes, since 2013.

1 Like

I don’t know! That’s why I’m asking. LOL

I didn’t know about Linksys being the parent company of Belkin. Thank you!

It’s the other way around.
Belkin owns Linksys.

2 Likes

When I bought Tablo 3 years ago, my router wasn’t up to the task, so I bought a TP Link Archer C7, which has mostly done the job for me, and at a decent price point. But, it’s getting a little long in the tooth, and I’m starting to look around. Costco has a NETGEAR Nighthawk X6S AC3000 which looks to be very capable. I set one up for a neighbor yesterday, and was impressed with its performance and features. Nice, strong 5 GHz throughout the entire house. Oh, and Costco has about the best price at just under $200.

2 Likes