Roku Nice Feature - What about the web app

The Roku has a nice feature in “Schedule” that shows “Coming soon” recordings. It lists the schedule by days in order.
I was surprised that this wasn’t in the web browser version. That would be a neat option to have.

I’m a newbie to Tablo. Had it for maybe a week now. I like it a lot except it is too slow at some things such as live TV.

It needs a faster processor and USB 3 would be nice. It is 2017 after all. :slight_smile:

1 Like

The slow tuning of live TV is not due to the processor speed or USB 2.0 - it is the conversion process of the video from the native MPEG2 video to h.264 video.

1 Like

Agreed.

Wouldn’t a faster processor make that conversion faster?

Lol unfortunately not, unless it could travel through time. The Tablo creates a 10 second buffer for streaming. So it takes at least 10 seconds before it starts streaming. 10 seconds is 10 seconds in real time.

Ummm… It’s usually more than 10 seconds.
I have it connected through the Ethernet. Tablo only has 100mbp but seems like that should be fast enough.
I really like it except for a few things I mentioned. I like the way Roku 4 works with it.

I also have a Hdhomerun that I’ve had for years. Works good but the interface isn’t as pretty. Been waiting for their DVR but looks like they are having problems getting it finished.

I was able to get a fairly accurate measurement on the delay when tuning a channel. Only did this once so I don’t know about the variance, but it was about 23 seconds… our local news channel was displaying a clock at the time, and I checked it against my atomic clock when theirs flipped over to the next minute. Lots of variables here, but the 23 second figure should be fairly close.

Yes, I have checked mine several times and it runs between 12 - 16 secs. It use to be a little longer, but I have improved my router and added 3 network extensions so my LAN strength and coverage has improve a lot.

1 Like