Re-connect while remote

I have used the Tablo for 3 months. I am an electrical engineer and have setup my home (FiOS) router as per the Tablo instructions to enjoy a solid REMOTE viewing experience.

It works most of the time, from any device and anywhere in the US, but every once in a while - like today - it is no longer connected and since I am not home, there is no easy way to connect it.

When I get home next time I’ll install a work-around - just add an internet connected power on-off switch to both the router and the Tablo and that way I can perform a “power cycle” from remote.

This is however not a very elegant way of getting connectivity and it may also not fix the problem.

This is a public question to Tablo - since I have seen a lot of people have the same issue as I have.

To be clear: This is NOT an issue with my HD or my streaming devices or my home network or my antenna or my WiFi signal strength - please spare me those questions.

This is about the Tablo’s sw being incredibly unstable compared to virtually ALL my other internet connected devices in my “smart home”. I have 3 video cameras for example, and during 2 years, I have not once lost connection to any of them - 2 of those are cheap Chinese models working on a chinese app on my iPhone - solid as a rock.

I love the Tablo interface and functionality - when it works - what are you guys doing to

• make the WiFi connection solid?
  • automatically reconnect when loosing connectivity

For example - why can’t you pretend I am at home and give the instructions to re-connect to the WiFi using the stored username and password as if I was giving the instructions from my iPhone…

Just have a logic instruction to run that program after 1 minute of not being connected to the internet…

Please tell me you are working on a solution make the Tablo behave like a normal “smart home” device.

Thanks,

Per

2 Likes