Possible Fix for "Ragged Text"

I’m new to Tablo and very satisfied so far. I’m in the process of cutting the cord but I still have overlapping Tablo and satellite service at this time. This has given me the opportunity to compare picture resolution/display using a 1080i signal from my satellite box and 1080p (or so it thinks) coming from my Roku via Tablo recording at 1080/720fps60. One disturbing item I’ve noticed ever since hooking the Tablo up is that the satellite picture resolution/quality seemed quite a bit better for some reason. I couldn’t put my finger on it at first but then I noticed that the Tablo picture had very “ragged” looking text. People’s faces and scenic landscapes and other parts of the picture seemed fine, but for some reason the text seemed really blocky and ragged via Tablo/Roku while the satellite text displays of the same image were super sharp.

This really started to bother me to the point that I wasn’t sure I could live with the blockiness. So, I started playing with all of the television settings to see if anything could be done. I finally stumbled across the “Sharpness” setting on my Insignia TV and noticed that it was ratcheted up fairly high. I turned it down to about 1/5 the original value and the text suddenly looked much less blocky and ragged on the Tablo picture. I couldn’t turn it completely to zero or the picture started to look very slightly blurred. But, a value of 10 on a 100 scale seemed to balance text and picture sharpness on the Tablo image.

I’m totally at a loss to understand why the Sharpness setting so greatly affects the Tablo output via Roku, but doesn’t impair the satellite picture at all. I hope this helps someone out if they get the “blocky” or “ragged” text issue. Try adjusting the “Sharpness” setting!

Harry G.