Notes on Remote Access with Tablo Quad

I have been using my Tablo Quad with remote access for several months now so I thought some observations might be of help to others that may want to do this.

If I’m not mistaken, Tablo does not recommend remotely accessing the device with a hotspot. However, I am using a MiFi8000 hotspot from Sprint/T-Mobile for my internet connection. In some locations, I have seen speeds of over 100 Mbps but with the remote streaming quality of the Tablo set to 1Mbps, it works well even if the download speed is as low as 2 Mbps.

I do have VPN capability so I can re-pair the Tablo to the receiving device if necessary but so far, this has not ever been necessary. I access the Tablo with a 4K Firestick, a Windoze 10 laptop using Chrome or the new Tablo Windoze 10 app and a Samsung phone with the Tablo app. All work well.

One interesting observation is that virtually EVERY time I finish watching one recording and start another using the Firestick, the Tablo will display “An Unknown Error Occurred” and below that, “retry playback” or “cancel”. If I back all the way out of Tablo and go into the Firestick “Applications” section, then to “Manage Installed Applications” then to “Tablo” then “Force Stop” and then “Launch Application”, Tablo will again restart and I can select the next recording and it will play just fine. I have not observed this on viewers other than the Firestick since that’s what I typically use and I don’t know if the issue is related to the MiFi8000, the Tablo or the Firestick. I suspect the Firestick app but I have no way of proving it.