Newbie neeeds info

HI every body, I am an Electrical/Electronic Engineer, 90 years old but slow to this cord cutting. Will someone please spend a little time letting me know what I need to go with a Tablo unit. Please show/discuss how everything is to be connected. I live in an assisted living community. Their contract with the cable company prohibits DVR’s hooked to the cable signal so I am looking for a way to record OTA signals. We have about 200 channels provided, but sometimes 2 or more programs are on at the same time, thus the need for the Tablo unit. The Cable Co router sends signal for the TV by cable, but the internet signal is sent by a WIFI signal over the facility. Any help or suggestions will be most appreciated. Thanks

Tablo devices are for OTA broadcast TV only (that is, not a cable company’s rebroadcast).

How would you access the Over The Air signal? A personal antenna?

yes. So if the coax does indeed have antenna signal, then Tablo can be used. In theory, it doesn’t have to come from an antenna, but that’s the norm.

Just to be clear, Tablo cannot record cable programming.

You must install & connect an over-the-air (OTA) antenna to Tablo, then you have to connect Tablo to a wifi network router (either by ethernet cable or wireless). Then if you want to watch Tablo’s programming on a TV you must have a smart TV &/or a streaming device (Fire TV, Roku, etc.) connected to the TV. Also, in order to record any programs you also must purchase a USB Hard Drive & connect it to Tablo as well.