Lock Selection in list on left

I’ve noticed on occasion a feature in the list of shows and movies, wherever there is a list on the left side, like for genres and channels, etc., there is a feature called ‘lock selection’. I’ve not seen any description of what this does anywhere, and I can’t figure out what it does.

I just tried it out. It really doesn’t do much except keep you on that channel or genre once you lock it. You have to unlock it to see other channels or genres.

I really don’t see any benefit to it at all, though the Tablo folks probably had a reason for it.

It’s there in case you want that to be your default view.