Digging a hole with recording quality setting

(I have read https://www.tablotv.com/blog/choosing-right-tablo-recording-quality/).

I’m fairly new to Tablo, and still trying to get things set up reasonably well. Along the way, I’ve experimented with 10 mbps, 8 mbps, and of course 5 mbps quality settings. I haven’t figured out how I can tell which quality a given recording was in, which makes it difficult for me to figure out if that’s a factor.

My basic problem is occasional macroblocking of motion on CBS 1080i source material. At first I thought maybe there was an issue with signal level. In order to get a better signal at the antenna, I moved the Tablo to another room and connected via Wi-Fi (802.11ac). The client of interest is a Roku 4 (also 802.11ac).

That worked fine for a while, although I still had some of the macroblocking. I tried increasing the quality level, but couldn’t see if it made a difference when viewing live (it only happens a few times an hour). But now I’m suddenly experiencing buffering during playback. Still shooting from the hip in the dark, I’m guessing I’m starting to play back recordings made at 8 or 10 mbps, and with the Wi-Fi connection, maybe that’s not going so well. So I’ve moved the Tablo back to hardwire distance, even though the signal level is lower. It still should be a pretty good signal.

Adding to my “sorceror’s apprentice” flailing: the broadcast CBS signal here is a 1080i subchannel on the 720p ABC station, which also has a 480p subchannel. The bitrate in the OTA signal is almost certainly compromised. Perhaps the macroblocking is occurring there, in which case there’s nothing I could do with the Tablo to fix it. I can’t say I’ve noticed macroblocking on the NBC 1080i signal (although maybe I just wasn’t paying attention.)