Dangers of protheletizing

Any time that the subject of cord-cutting comes up, I find myself holding back. People over 35 are very interested in how to go about it, but often get lost when I try to explain what I have done (Antenna, Oooma, Tablo, etc). I’m a techie, so this all comes naturally, but even my wife hasn’t a clue how this all works. She is happy to save money, though.

The reasons I am cautious are twofold. First, some people just won’t be happy with the outcome (for a variety of reasons). I don’t want to be blamed for that. Second, I fear being sucked into the role of tech support for anyone who follows my advice.

Just wondering how you all approach the subject.

FWIW You may be hanging out with the wrong 35 year old’s…  I’m about to be 38, understand all of this is a big way and sadly am forced to function as tech support for all my friends and family.  :)  

I am a tech junkie but it takes time to adopt new technology. I am in my 50’s and was fortunate enough to be able to retire early. I work as a consultant and set my own schedule so time is not a problem for me.

I think the issue is that technology moves so fast that you either adopt new technology early or the tech world has moved on. How many non tech jukie people do you know with 2-3 kids that have time to be on forums trying to understand why they keep getting an error message every time they try to use their (insert new tech here)? Most people just to be able to plug it in and it works. Apple products USED to be that way. I got the very first iPhone when they came out and it just worked. Now every time there is a iOS update something stops working right.

I don’t know why but I have always been an early adopter. I had a home PC before it was popular. It had a 10 MHz processor with a “Turbo” switch that boosted it to 20 MHz. The HDD was probably about 3GB.